Kilbeggan Shamrocks GAA

Founded 1884

Co. Westmeath

Weekly notes

Download our mobile app to hear more about Kilbeggan Shamrocks GAA.

See More

Dinner dance

Last Saturday night’s dinner dance in the Tullamore Court Hotel was a resounding success.

There was plenty of glitz and glamour on show on what was a fantastic night of celebration for Kilbeggan Shamrocks. About 250 guests attended the event which commenced with a drinks’ reception at 5.30pm. That was followed by a delicious three-course meal, the presentation of JFC medals and music by The Lols and a disco to end the night. The event was hosted by the hilarious Rory O’Connor of Rory’s Stories fame.

In between, there was a brilliant performance by our county Scór Sinsir Novelty Act champions, one of Rory O’Connor’s trademark sketches where his GAA know-it-all alter ego ‘Eugene’ indulged in a bit of light-hearted banter with players Joey O’Neill, Martin Ward, Darragh Coffey, Nigel Scally and Colin Draper, and the presentation of Player of the Year awards.

There was also a special presentation to our three championship centurions Mel Kiernan, Alan Fennell and Shaun Pidgeon who have made a staggering 115, 140 and 149 appearances respectively over the last two decades, and speeches by club chairman Adrian Carroll, JFC-winning manager Niall O’Brien and Westmeath GAA chairman Frank Mescall.

In his address, Adrian thanked everyone from players, management and club committee members to supporters and sponsors. He also announced that our Mothers & Others team have been chosen to take part in a blitz in New York in October which comes on the back of them taking part in a national blitz in Dublin last year.

Both Rory O’Connor and Frank Mescall spoke of the importance of building on last year’s JFC success and keeping the momentum going.

Niall O’Brien announced the winners of the Player of the Year accolades. The Player of the Year Award went to Conor Delaney who enjoyed a magnificent season and has been a massive addition to the club since joining from his native Stradbally in 2019. There was a lovely photo taken afterwards of Conor with Westmeath County Council chairman Liam McDaniel, who was our first-ever Player of the Year Award recipient way back in 1976.

Martin Ward scooped the Most Improved Player of the Year Award, while the Young Player of the Year winner was goalkeeper Joey O’Neill. All in all, it was a marvellous occasion enjoyed by all.

ACFL Division 3 v St Joseph’s

Just a few hours before last Saturday night’s dinner dance, we got our 2024 campaign underway with an exciting 1-7 to 0-10 draw with St Joseph’s in Streamstown.

Played on the hosts’ splendid new pitch and in very favourable weather conditions for this time of the year, this All-County Football League Division 3 Round 1 encounter didn’t disappoint with a draw being a fair outcome. When the teams last faced off in the JFC last summer, Kilbeggan needed a brilliant equalising free from Conor Delaney to salvage a share of the spoils. This time, it was St Joseph’s turn to come from behind and earn a draw thanks to an excellent Jordan McDonnell free with the last kick of the game.

While we were disappointed not to hold on, defeat would almost certainly have been our lot had a rasping shot from Dean Slevin early in the second half not miraculously stayed out after hitting both the crossbar and the upright. A goal at that stage would have left St Joseph’s perched on a 1-8 to 1-2 lead and would surely have put the game beyond us.

Instead, we fought back with two points each from the outstanding Niall Carey and Conor Delaney (one free) to take a 1-6 to 0-8 lead. Heading down the home stretch, McDonnell levelled from a free, only for Carey to reply with a super score straight from the kickout. But there was still time for McDonnell to equalise again.

After Delaney had given us an early lead, the home side shot five unanswered points in a dominant opening quarter. But against the run of play, we reduced the deficit to the minimum in the 16th minute when Delaney treaded a lovely ball through to the overlapping Conor Carroll who finished smartly to the bottom left-hand corner of the net. Delaney and McDonnell exchanged points thereafter to leave it 0-6 to 1-2 in St Joseph’s favour at the interval.

The hosts’ grabbed the first two points of the second half before Slevin’s unlucky miss proved the catalyst for Kilbeggan’s comeback.

We’re back in action again this Saturday, March 2 when St Loman’s visit MJS Builds St James’ Park in Round 2 at 2pm.

Team: Joey O’Neill; Martin Ward, James Fox, Sean Hanlon; Colin Draper, Mark Wrafter, Conor Carroll; Niall Carey, Brendan McMahon; Danny Scully, Darragh Coffey, Micheál Coffey; Shaun Pidgeon, Conor Delaney, James Finnegan. Subs used: Padraig Carton, James Hanlon and Paul Fennell.


2024 membership is now due.

All players must have membership in order to train, play matches or use our facilities. Payment can be made through our system on ClubZap.

The rates are as follows: GAA adult player - €60; GAA / LGFA adult non-player - €20; GAA underage player (U18 and below) - €30; GAA family membership - €80; LGFA adult player - €80; LGFA U18 player - €65; LGFA U16 player - €65; LGFA U14 player - €65; LGFA U12 and below - €30; Gaelic for Mothers & Others - €30; LGFA family membership - €130.


Last week’s lucky numbers were 4, 12, 16 and 20. There were five Match 3 winners – Angela Doonan, Mary Egan, Caroline Kelly, Padraig Egan and Kieran Coffey. The jackpot is capped at €15,000. You can purchase your tickets in local shops or online.

Last Man Standing

A further seven people have been eliminated from our Last Man Standing National League competition, mainly due to Roscommon’s hurling draw with Wicklow last Sunday.

It means just 14 out of 135 entrants have made it through to Week 6. Next week is football only. Those still in the reckoning will receive instructions by email.


Deepest sympathy is extended to the Dinnegan and Brennan families on the passing of Mary Dinnegan, Moate Road last Friday, February 23.

May she rest in peace.

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play